CD Review: The Hit Men: The Hit Men Live!

The Hit Men
The Hit Men Live!

 Fans of old school bands like The Four Seasons, Tommy James & the Shondells, The Critters, Cat Stevens, Carly Simon, and Jim Croce, listen up!  Let me tell you about this cool new Super Group formed by members of each of these bands! Introducing…The Hit Men! The Hit Men are Lee Shapiro, Don Ciccone, Larry Gates, Gerry Polci, Jimmy Ryan and Russ Velazquez. Each of these gentlemen previously performed in the above mentioned bands. They have formed this Super Group and are now approaching the release date of their debut album, The Hit Men Live! The Hit Men Live! features 11 tracks of well-known tunes from The Four Seasons, Tommy James and the Shondells, The Critters, Cat Stevens, and Jim Croce! Several of these are medleys, so you get a taste of quite a number of tunes! These bands have created some of the most memorable hits of the 60s, 70s, and 80s. I’m such a fan of this music, that I was so excited to have the opportunity to review the debut album! (Be on the lookout for an interview with The Hit Men, coming soon here on ROCK-WIRE.COM.) I can tell you that having listened to these bands for many, many years, The Hit Men are in perfect form…no one is missing a single step! Also, the gentlemen pay excellent homage to the memory of the late, great Jim Croce! Just wait ‘til you hear this album! If you grew up listening to this music, you’re in for a real treat! If you didn’t, here is an excellent opportunity for you to become acquainted with some of the most pivotal music of our generation! The Hit Men are on tour now, so check out their facebook page for a list of tour dates! Album is available everywhere on February 28, 2012! Be sure to grab yourself a copy! To give you a little more information, the track listing for The Hit Men Live! is below:

 1) The Four Seasons Medley #1: “Workin’ My Way Back to You”, “Rag Doll”, “Stay”
2) “Who Loves You”
3) “Grease”
4) Tommy James & The Shondells Medley:” I Think We’re Alone Now”, “Draggin’ the Line”, “Hanky Panky”, “Mony Mony”
5) The Critters Medley: “Mr. Dieingly Sad”, “Younger Girl”
6) Cat Stevens Medley: “Peace Train”, “Wild World”
7) Jim Croce Medley: “Bad Leroy Brown”, “You Don’t Mess Around with Jim”
8) “Silence is Golden”
9) “Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You”
10) “December, 1963 (Oh, What a Night)”
11) The Four Seasons Medley #2: “Sherry”, “Walk Like a Man”, “Big Girls Don’t Cry”, “Bye, Bye Baby” 

Now, if that doesn’t get you psyched up…check your pulse!

Posted on January 20, 2012, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: